SaaSFractionalCPO DATA SaaS Fractional CPO Data Portal, back to the main site
Live dataset · updated monthly

The Fractional Rates Index

v2.1.1 · · n=1,774 · CC BY 4.0
The short answer

How much does a fractional executive cost in 2026?

The median published monthly retainer for a US fractional executive is $5,750, and the middle half of published US monthly retainers sits between $3,000 and $10,000. Across every region and pricing model the median works out at $172 an hour. Only 10.7% of the 1,577 provider sites we read publish a price at all.

Recorded from provider websites between 2026-08 and 2026-09. Published prices only; negotiated fees are out of scope. $5,750 carries a 95% interval of $5,000 to $8,000, and $172 an interval of $125 to $209.

Distribution of published monthly retainers, US

n=107 · USD per month · median flagged
providers median band
<2k 2-3k 3-4k 4-5k 5-6k 6-8k 8-10k 10-15k 15k+
The median sits in the 5-6k band, and 29% of published US retainers are $10,000 a month or more.

Rates by role, region and pricing model

Medians and quartiles of published prices, in the currency the provider quotes in, with a USD-per-hour column so the rows can be compared with each other.
SHOWING 6 OF 6 GROUPS · 106 GROUP ENTRIES ACROSS 99 PROVIDERS
Publishes a price, by role, of the 1,577 provider sites we read: CPO 53.1% · CTO 28.4% · CMO 25.4% · COO 19.7% · CFO 8.2% · CRO 6.7%. Overall 10.7%. Counted on sites whose pages name the role, not on every domain in the queue.
ROLE
REGION
MODEL
Published fractional executive rates by role, region and pricing model. US groups are USD, UK groups are GBP, EU groups are EUR; the model column carries the unit. USD/H puts every row on one axis. The Fractional Rates Index v2.1.1, 168 providers publishing, .
ROLE REGION MODEL MEDIAN P25 P75 RANGE USD/H PROVIDERS PRICES CONFIDENCE
Role not specified US Hourly $175 $68 $269 $175 8 8 0·1·7
Role not specified US Monthly retainer $5,000 $2,594 $9,000 $162 38 65 17·14·34
Fractional CMO US Monthly retainer $8,250 $5,125 $10,375 $182 26 56 31·6·19
Fractional CPO US Monthly retainer $7,000 $3,375 $11,625 $181 12 23 3·5·15
Fractional CTO US Hourly $200 $125 $269 $200 8 12 4·1·7
Fractional CTO US Monthly retainer $8,000 $4,237 $11,312 $199 14 31 9·6·16
Groups carry the unit in the model column. All figures exclude VAT and sales tax. PROVIDERS counts sites, PRICES counts the individual figures behind them, and a provider quoting several tiers contributes the median of its own tiers. 32 of the 38 groups sit below the n=8 reporting floor: they are counted and named in the groups file and carry no figure anywhere, here or in the prose. Rows labelled “Role not specified” are providers that publish a price without naming the role it buys; they are the largest groups in the index and are shown rather than dropped. CONFIDENCE records how much corroboration each price has, as high·medium·low counts: high means two independent extractions agreed and the strict parse passed, low means neither. Low-confidence records are published and counted; a group with no high-confidence record at all is marked ⚠.
DOWNLOAD THIS TABLE AS CSV ↓

ASKED MOST OFTEN

What does a fractional executive cost?

ANSWERS DRAWN FROM v2.1.1 · n=1,774

How much does a fractional CPO cost?

The median published monthly retainer for a US fractional CPO is $7,000, from 12 providers publishing 23 prices between them. On the hourly axis that is $181 an hour. UK and euro-area groups for this role are below our n=8 publication floor, so we count them and publish no figure. Figures are published prices, not negotiated fees.

What do fractional CMOs and CTOs charge?

In the US, $8,250 a month for a CMO (n=26 providers) and $8,000 a month for a CTO (n=14 providers). Outside the US both roles are below our n=8 publication floor, so we count them and publish no figure.

Why do so few providers publish a price?

Of the 1,577 provider sites we read, 10.7% publish a price we can verify against their own page; the other 89.3% ask for a call first. Every figure here describes that minority, which is why the share is reported beside it.

How does UK pricing differ from the US?

We cannot say yet, and this edition does not pretend otherwise. 25 providers publish in sterling, 18 as monthly retainers and 9 as day rates. Every one of those groups is below our n=8 publication floor, so we count them and publish no figure, so no UK median appears in the table or here. The UK sample is what the next collection round is aimed at.

Methodology

v2.1.1 · 2026-09 · n=1,774 · previous versions stay downloadable in the changelog
CHANGELOG
v2.1.1The plausibility band now applies to the derived USD-per-hour column as well as to the captured price, and the hours behind a retainer are read from the offer's own words wherever it states them. Seven US monthly records fell outside the band and are named in the quarantine file; providers publishing a price move from 175 to 168. Holding them back lifts the lower quartile of the hourly column by 11.1% and the median by 1.7%. COO / US / monthly, published at $3,938 from 8 providers in v2.1, now holds 7, falls below the n=8 reporting floor and carries no figure. If you cited $3,938 for a fractional COO, that figure is withdrawn.
v2.1Sites belonging to one operator consolidated into one provider. Every published figure now has to match a quote captured from the provider's own page. SaaS seat pricing and bookkeeping subscriptions excluded. USD-per-hour column added. Record-level CSV with evidence quotes published. Providers tracked to 1,774, publishing a price 175.
v2.0Added COO, CRO and Chief of Staff. Providers tracked to 1,127. Day-rate normalisation revised.
v1.2First public edition. 736 providers tracked, August 2026.
FULL CHANGELOG ↗