The Fractional Rates Index
How much does a fractional executive cost in 2026?
The median published monthly retainer for a US fractional executive is $5,750, and the middle half of published US monthly retainers sits between $3,000 and $10,000. Across every region and pricing model the median works out at $172 an hour. Only 10.7% of the 1,577 provider sites we read publish a price at all.
Distribution of published monthly retainers, US
Rates by role, region and pricing model
| ROLE | REGION | MODEL | MEDIAN | P25 | P75 | RANGE | USD/H | PROVIDERS | PRICES | CONFIDENCE |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Role not specified | US | Hourly | $175 | $68 | $269 | $175 | 8 | 8 | 0·1·7 ⚠ | |
| Role not specified | US | Monthly retainer | $5,000 | $2,594 | $9,000 | $162 | 38 | 65 | 17·14·34 | |
| Fractional CMO | US | Monthly retainer | $8,250 | $5,125 | $10,375 | $182 | 26 | 56 | 31·6·19 | |
| Fractional CPO | US | Monthly retainer | $7,000 | $3,375 | $11,625 | $181 | 12 | 23 | 3·5·15 | |
| Fractional CTO | US | Hourly | $200 | $125 | $269 | $200 | 8 | 12 | 4·1·7 | |
| Fractional CTO | US | Monthly retainer | $8,000 | $4,237 | $11,312 | $199 | 14 | 31 | 9·6·16 | |
| No group matches that combination. Clear a filter to see the rest. | ||||||||||
ASKED MOST OFTEN
What does a fractional executive cost?
How much does a fractional CPO cost?
The median published monthly retainer for a US fractional CPO is $7,000, from 12 providers publishing 23 prices between them. On the hourly axis that is $181 an hour. UK and euro-area groups for this role are below our n=8 publication floor, so we count them and publish no figure. Figures are published prices, not negotiated fees.
What do fractional CMOs and CTOs charge?
In the US, $8,250 a month for a CMO (n=26 providers) and $8,000 a month for a CTO (n=14 providers). Outside the US both roles are below our n=8 publication floor, so we count them and publish no figure.
Why do so few providers publish a price?
Of the 1,577 provider sites we read, 10.7% publish a price we can verify against their own page; the other 89.3% ask for a call first. Every figure here describes that minority, which is why the share is reported beside it.
How does UK pricing differ from the US?
We cannot say yet, and this edition does not pretend otherwise. 25 providers publish in sterling, 18 as monthly retainers and 9 as day rates. Every one of those groups is below our n=8 publication floor, so we count them and publish no figure, so no UK median appears in the table or here. The UK sample is what the next collection round is aimed at.